DWI in the state of Texas

admin 0

It is illegal to operate a motor vehicle with a blood alcohol content of 0.08% or more in all fifty states. If a police officer has reason to believe that you are driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs, he will stop you at a traffic stop. In the state of Texas, driving while intoxicated is called driving while intoxicated or DWI. It means the same thing as DUI, and the terms are used interchangeably in the United States.

Being arrested for DWI is not limited to alcohol intoxication; a person can be arrested for DWI when they are operating a vehicle under the influence of legal and illegal drugs. In fact, there are a number of prescription drugs that can have a drastic influence on a person’s ability to drive. Any drug that causes drowsiness can cause someone to fall asleep at the wheel and subsequently lead to a traffic collision.

In the state of Texas, most first-time DWIs are classified as Class B misdemeanors. Absent unusual facts or aggravating circumstances, most people convicted of first-time DWIs face fines of up to $2,000, up to six months. jail time and up to 100 hours of community service.

In some cases, the person will not go to jail after a first DWI offense and will receive probation instead of jail time. When this happens, there are usually conditions that the offender must meet. Such mandatory conditions may involve participation in an alcohol treatment program, may be ordered not to consume any alcohol, may be ordered to pay restitution to an insurance company or damages to the other party (if there was an accident). .

For a second offense DWI, it is classified as a Class A misdemeanor and is punishable by up to $4,000 in fines, up to one year in jail, up to 200 hours of community service, and a 180-day to 2-year driver’s license suspension. lead.

For any third DWI offense, the penalties become much higher. A third DWI is prosecuted as a third degree felony. It is punishable by a $10,000 fine, 2 to 10 years in prison, up to 600 hours of community service, and up to 2 years of driver’s license suspension.

The penalties for DWI are not the same in all situations. Depending on whether there was any property damage, or if there was bodily injury involved, a person may face higher penalties. Getting arrested for DWI can be very stressful to say the least; however, an arrest does not have to become a conviction. He can fight your charges in court, and an experienced DWI attorney will be able to help you do so. It is possible to contest your traffic stop, the arrest itself, and any evidence collected at the scene. Law enforcement officers are not perfect and are sometimes prone to mistakes. It will be the job of a skilled lawyer to separate the evidence against you and look for any mistakes made by the police. To start taking action now to protect your legal rights, contact a DWI attorney today!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *